Skip to product information
1 of 2


Various Artists - New York Noise - Dance Music From The New York [RSD '23]

Various Artists - New York Noise - Dance Music From The New York [RSD '23]

Regular price $40.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $40.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

2xLP / yellow vinyl Various Artists - New York Noise (RSD '23 Vinyl)
(RSD Exclusive, Colored Vinyl, Green, Digital Download Card)

2023 Record Store Day releases will be for sale in person at the special sale at The Sanctuary in Montgomery Alabama at 10am on Saturday April 22nd. There will be no holds or reservations with all RSD product sold on a first come first served basis.

RSD Exclusive stock it will be made available online on Saturday April 22nd 2023 at 12pm. Soul Jazz Records’ new 20th anniversary one-off limited-edition heavyweight special-edition coloured vinyl pressing + download code exclusively for Record Store Day 2023 of Soul Jazz Records’ New York Noise: Dance Music from The New York Underground 1978-82.

‘New York Noise is a comprehensive look at the post-punk and no wave era, a short period in time whose influence is still immeasurable and sensed today.’ The Guardian

‘One of the most satisfying archival collections, Soul Jazz’s compilation New York Noise 1978-1982, gathers far-reaching tracks from such diverse acts as Liquid Liquid, Material, and Glenn Branca.’ Pitchfork

This new 2023 edition features classic New York post-punk, punk funk, synth wave and no wave tracks from Arthur Russell/Dinosaur L, James White and the Contortions, The Theoretical Girls, Mars, Konk, Material, Bush Tetras, Lizzy Mercier Descloux alongside rare tracks by the likes of Alan Vega (Suicide), Chain Gang and Implog.

‘New York Noise’ sums up the point in time and space where dance music and punk rock first met as New York’s No Wave artists such as Glenn Branca, James White alongside new york dance music’s experimental pioneers such as Arthur Russell (Dinosaur l), Bill Laswell (Material), and Konk created new musical art forms out of this union.

1. Liquid Liquid - Optimo (2.43)
2. The Contortions - Contort Yourself (4.23)
3. Konk - Elephant (4.19)
4. impLOG - Holland Tunnel Dive (7.42)

1. Chain Gang - Son Of Sam (3.13)
2. Bush Tetras - You Can't Be Funky (2.43)
3. Material - Reduction (5.25)
4. Mars - Helen Forsdale (2.30)
5. Lizzy Mercier Descloux - Wawa (2.22)

1. Theoretical Girls - You Got Me (3.54)
2. Konk - Baby Dee (6.02)
3. Mars - 3-E (2.50)
4. Bush Tetras - Too Many Creeps (4.02)

1. Arto / Neto - Pini, Pini (2.26)
2. Alan Vega - Bye Bye Bayou (8.34)
3. impLOG - Breakfast (3.27)

View full details
  • Free Shipping

    You can get free shipping by joining our Subscription program and by doing so all of your additional records will simply be shipped monthly with each subscription at no extra shipping cost! That's more bang for your buck!

  • Additional Requests

    Hey Leroy! Are you having trouble finding what you're looking for? Hit us up and let us know what sparks your fancy. We might have that white whale of a record deep in the crates and not yet on the site.

What our members think...